Bild mit Unilogo
home uni uni kontakt contact
unilogo Universität Stuttgart
Institute of Communication Networks and Computer Engineering (IKR)

Project description

germanicon Druckansicht
 

Master thesis No. 962    (Offer)   [pdf]

Multi-Layer Network Encodings for Genetic Algorithms


Methods

Topics

Programming in Java
Performance Evaluation

Multi-layer networks
Optical networks


Description

Background

Novel and higher-quality Internet services fuel an exponential growth of traffic in internet service providers' multi-layer transport networks. This leads to a significant increase in resource demand with large variations over time thus requiring more efficient and dynamic operation of future networks. The Software-Defined Networking (SDN) paradigm enables an efficient and dynamic (re)configuration of multi-layer transport networks. Finding such a network configuration, is a complex graph optimization problem which can be solved by the use of optimization heuristics such as genetic algorithms (GA). GAs utilize concepts of naturally occurring evolution such as mutation and recombination of genetic codes to determine a solution.

Task

In this project you will design, implement and evaluate methods that translate a multi-layer network into a genetic encoding. The encoding and its properties have a decisive impact on the solubility of the reconfiguration problem and the performance of the genetic algorithm. This necessitates a precise formulation and analysis as well as an efficient implementation of the encoding methods. The methods developed will be integrated into an existing software tool for the simulation of the dynamic reconfiguration of multi-layer networks. This project involves the following tasks:

Familiarization with basics of genetic algorithms

Theoretical analysis and development of genetic encodings of multi-layer networks

Implementation of the developed encodings and adaptation of evolutionary operators

Comparative studies of different encodings and simulative performance evaluation

Acquired Knowledge and Skills

You will learn to identify a solution approach for a specific problem in literature, to adapt and to implement it. Furthermore you learn how to evaluate a complex system through simulation. You will gain insight into multi-layer networks and heuristic algorithms. In addition, you will gain experience in using an extensive, modular, object-oriented software framework.


Requirements

Desirable knowledge

Programming Experience in Java

Basic knowledge of communication networks
Communication Networks II


Contact

Dipl.-Inf. Uwe Bauknecht, room 1.403 (ETI II), phone 685-69012, [homepage, E-Mail]

M.Sc. Tobias Enderle, room 1.402 (ETI II), phone 685-67992, [homepage, E-Mail]

Bild mit Unilogo
home uni uni kontakt kontakt
unilogo Universität Stuttgart
Institut für Kommunikationsnetze und Rechnersysteme (IKR)

Themenbeschreibung

englishicon Druckansicht
 

Master-Arbeit Nr. 962    (Zu vergeben)   [pdf]

Kodierungen von Multi-Layer Netzen für Genetische Algorithmen


Methoden

Themengebiete

Programmierung in Java
Leistungsbewertung

Multi-layer Netze
Optische Netze


Beschreibung

Hintergrund

Neuartige und höherwertige Internetdienste führen zu einem exponentiellen Anstieg des Verkehrs in den Multi-Layer-Transportnetzen der Internetprovider. Dies führt zu einer starken Zunahme des Ressourcenbedarfs bei großen zeitlichen Schwankungen, sodass ein statischer Netzbetrieb schwerlich effizient realisiert werden kann. Im Gegensatz dazu ermöglicht das Software-Defined Networking Paradigma eine effiziente, dynamische (Re)Konfiguration von Netzressourcen. Eine solche Netzkonfiguration zu finden, ist ein komplexes Graphenoptimierungsproblem, welches durch den Einsatz von Optimierungsheuristiken wie Genetische Algorithmen (GA) gelöst werden kann. GAs verwenden Prinzipien natürlicher Evolution wie Mutation und Rekombination genetischer Kodierungen zur Lösungsbestimmung.

Aufgabenstellung

In dieser Arbeit entwerfen, implementieren und bewerten Sie Verfahren, um ein Multi-Layer Netz in eine genetische Kodierung zu überführen. Die Kodierung und ihre Eigenschaften haben maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die Lösbarkeit des Rekonfigurationsproblems und die Leistungsfähigkeit des genetischen Algorithmus. Daher sind eine präzise Formulierung und Analyse sowie eine effiziente Implementierung der Verfahren notwendig. Die Verfahren werden dabei in ein bestehendes Simulationswerkzeug für die dynamische Rekonfiguration von Multi-Layer Netzen integriert. Die Arbeit umfasst folgende Aufgaben:

Einarbeitung in Grundlagen genetischer Algorithmen

Theoretische Analyse und Entwurf von genetischen Kodierungen von Multi-Layer Netzen

Implementierung der Kodierungen und Anpassung von evolutionären Operatoren

Vergleichende Studien zu verschiedenen Kodierungen und simulative Leistungsbewertung

Erworbene Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten

Sie lernen, aus einem generischen Vorgehensmodell ein Verfahren zur Lösung einer konkreten Problemstellung zu entwickeln und dieses systematisch zu bewerten. Sie erhalten Einblicke in ein heuristisches Optimierungsverfahren sowie die Netzoptimierung. Darüber hinaus gewinnen Sie Erfahrung mit einem umfangreichen, modularen, objektorientierten Software-Framework.


Voraussetzungen

Erwünschte Vorkenntnisse

Programmierkenntnisse in Java

Grundlagen zu Kommunikationsnetzen
Communication Networks II


Kontakt

Dipl.-Inf. Uwe Bauknecht, Raum 1.403 (ETI II), Telefon 685-69012, [homepage, E-Mail]

M.Sc. Tobias Enderle, Raum 1.402 (ETI II), Telefon 685-67992, [homepage, E-Mail]